The Missouri Point System and Penalties: Part 1

traffic tickets in springfield

Contact Springfield Traffic Tickets Today for the Legal Services You Need!

If you are convicted of a traffic violation, points will be added to your driver’s license. The number of points is typically based on the severity of the offense, which type of law you violated, and the number of the offense (how many times you have been cited for the same violation).

Below are some common questions about how points on your license affects your ability to drive.

Do I have points on my license?

You can order a driving record online which will show the following information: whether your driver’s license is valid, why your license is suspended or revoked, and how many points you have on your license according to DMV records.

How do I get points on my driver’s license?

Points are added to your license when you are found guilty of violating a traffic law. In addition to having points added to your license, you may also be required to pay a fine, attend a driver training course, or complete community service.

What are some possible punishments for having points on my driver’s license?

Having too many points on your license can result in a suspension or revocation of your driving privileges.
These punishments are assigned as follows:

  • Warning letter: accumulating 4 or more points in 12 months
  • Suspension: accumulating 8 or more points in 18 months results in a 30 day suspension; for the second suspension you will lose driving privileges for 60 days; subsequent suspensions are for 90 days
  • Revocation: accumulating 12 points or more in 12 months, 18 points or more in 24 months, or 24 points or more in 36 months will result in your license being revoked for 1 year

My license has been suspended or revoked. How will I get to work or school?

Driving while your license is suspended or revoked is not allowed. In very limited circumstances, drivers can be granted a limited driving privilege permit which allows them to drive to school, work, and other essential places such as the doctor. You must apply for this permit through the DMV, and not all drivers are eligible.

How do I get my license reinstated?

You must pay a fee in order to have your driving privileges reinstated. In some cases, proof of SR-22 insurance may be required.

One of the best things you can do when you receive a traffic ticket is to hire a traffic attorney. Having the right traffic attorney can reduce not only the fines you pay for a traffic violation, but also the number of points added to your license.

Continue to The Missouri Point System and Penalties: Part 2